Is it okay to include some medical aspects in a story if i dont know

Printer-friendly version

Forums: 

Taxonomy upgrade extras: 

in my most recent story I received this review

this sort of fiction and won't be reading more. The idea of a uterine transplant is the brain child
of someone with no medical or physiological/anatomical knowledge. Strictly in the realms of fantasy.Sorry.

Now I admit I have no medical knowledge but I dont really think this is a big deal that makes this story unreadable. and while a uterine transplant may seem totally ridiculous to someone with medical knowledge it doesnt to me. And I have seen other stories here that include it that have been very successful.

In fact there was one story here years ago where a boy was involved in a plane wreck. he was at a terminal with his family when a plane collided with it. I think his family died and he was seriously injured and had to go though srs to save his life. And they implanted his mothers womb in him. kind of silly but not so much it was unreadable. it was a pretty successful story

given that story's content i didnt think my story went beyond the bounds of acceptability or the ability to suspend disbelief.

Your doing fine.

It's called fiction for a reason people. Relax. There is no need to rag on someones story if it is not accurate. How much of hollywood is accurate. Just relax and enjoy the story. The last thing we need is Erin getting pissed off and turning off this site again.

As an author, ...

I believe you have the ability to ask Erin (or her helpers) to remove any comment to your story (or at least I seem to remember reading that somewhere) for any reason you deem fit or no reason at all.

So if you believe a comment might detract from other readers' enjoyment of the story, I would ask about it.

Even if not, I would also poke Erin on any unfriendly comments and ask her to review them.